219 E. Main St., Amboy, IL 61310 • Ph: 815-857-2311 • Fax: Fax: 815-857-2517
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Obituaries Social Page Sports Home 

It's Mayor Mekeel for a second term

Posted: Tuesday, Apr 7th, 2009

With a three-way mayoral race, a couple of aldermanic seats up for grabs and five candidates running for four school board seats in Amboy, voter turnout was pitifully low for the April 7 consolidated election. Only 28 percent of Lee County voters showed up at the polls on Tuesday despite great weather all day. In Sublette, five candidates vied for three village trustee seats and in Brooklyn Township, the hot races were for township highway commissioner and township trustee.

For the position of mayor of Amboy, incumbent Frank Mekeel was victorious receiving 247 of the 622 votes cast, with challengers Ed Blake receiving 204 votes and Daryl Stuckemeyer receiving 171 votes.

Melissa Eisenberg ran unopposed for the position of city clerk and received 571 votes. With 541 votes, Doug O’Rourke, who also ran unopposed, will retain the position of Amboy treasurer.

Ward One Alderman Michael K. Willstead amassed 135 votes, running unopposed; for Ward Two Alderman, Tim Oester received 127 votes to edge out Carol Biester, who received 110 votes. In the race for Ward Three Alderman, David J. Shaw got 116 votes to beat Tom Nauman, who had 98 votes.

Dennis McCoy received 603 votes winning the seat of Amboy Township Supervisor. Tom Bulfer received 590 votes for Amboy Township Highway Commissioner. Both McCoy and Bulfer ran unopposed.

The four candidates winning seats on the Amboy School District 272 board were Robert J. Olson (952), Daniel J. Stephenitch (935), Lori A. Setchell (964), and Tony Becker (778). Walter R. Parsons came in fifth with 346 votes.

The Amboy Township Trustee vote was 487 for David Nauman, 408 for William Metzen, 446 for Carl Grossman and 454 for Donald Bonnell, with all candidates earning seats.

In Sublette, unopposed candidates John R. Stenzel for Sublette Village President (96 votes) and Theresa I. Wilson for Sublette Village Clerk (109 votes) were both voted into office.

The three candidates elected as Village Trustees in Sublette were Robert Bulfer (80 votes), Timothy E. Bonnell (68 votes) and Rick Pertell (94 votes). Also running were Julie Kessel (39 votes) and Maurece Bruder (33 votes).

Running unopposed for the position of Sublette Township Supervisor, Daniel Stephenitch received 129 votes. Also unopposed were Deborah A. Schultz who received 119 votes for Sublette Township Clerk and Denis Erbes who received 122 votes for Sublette Township Highway Commissioner.

The Sublette Township Trustee vote was 114 for Delbert Stenzel, 103 for Douglas Schimmer, 121 for Annette Bonnell and 100 for Douglas McLaughlin.

For West Brooklyn Village President, Timothy N. Boone ran unopposed receiving 28 votes and Mary J. Gehant, also running unopposed for West Brooklyn Clerk, received 31 votes. The Village Trustee vote for West Brooklyn was 34 for Erik Bodmer, 31 for Dwight D. Craig, and 32 for Dennis Bodmer.

For Brooklyn Township Supervisor, Christina Barnickel had 195 votes while Margie M. Pasley received 179 for Brooklyn Township Clerk. In a three-way race for Brooklyn Township Highway Commissioner, Jerroll K. Swope received the highest number of votes with 101 followed by Darrell A. Pierce with 73 votes and Gerald Hornung with 38 votes.

Six candidates were in the running for four Brooklyn Township Trustee seats. Top vote-getters were Scott Gilmore with 186 votes, Norman Fassig with 171, Fountain Neal with 143 and Wesley L. Englehart with 127. Also running were Kay J. Mays with 51 votes and Mitchell R. Mays with 45 votes.

Select Page:




Copyright 2015 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal